Friday, November 14, 2014

Renu Modi, Director, Gallery Espace hosted the preview opening of ‘Drawing 2014’ at IGNCA

Renu Modi, Director, Gallery Espace hosted the preview opening of the gallery’s 25th anniversary show titled Drawing 2014 at Indira Gandhi National Centre for Arts (IGNCA) on November 10, 2014 amidst a gathering of the who’s who of art fraternity. Featuring drawings by over hundred Indian contemporary artists spanning seven decades, the show has been co-curated by Prayag Shukla along with Annapurna Garimella and Sindhura Jois DM. From works of stalwarts like M.F Husain, K.G Subramanyan, Jogen Chowdhury and Ganesh Pyne to younger ones like Mithu Sen, Manjunath Kamath, G R Iranna and Rollie Mukherjee, the show captures the staggering diversity in Drawing as an art practice.

Gallery Director Renu Modi said, “Artists bare their souls in drawings. Drawings are also the foundation of any art. Also the approach to drawings has changed so much, they are no longer pen and ink works, or mere sketches on paper. For instance, in this show, while we have classically minimalist works by Somnath Hore, there are also embroidered drawings by Rakhi Peswani, print-based scrolls by Paul Sengupta, and even a video by Sonia Khurana - all celebrating drawings.”

Those who attended the opening included Prayag Shukla (curator), Annapurna Garimella (curator), Maneka Gandhi (BJP leader), Alpana Gujral (jewellery designer), Shobha Deepak Singh (director, Shriram Bhartiya Kala Kendra), Rajshree Pathy (art collector), Rahul Kohli (art collector), Sita Raina (theatre personality), Subodh Gupta (artist), Paramjit Singh and Arpita Singh (artists), Amit Ambalal (artist), Jatin Das (artist), Siddharth (artist), Manu Parekh and Madhvi Parekh (artists), Amitava Das and Mona Rai (artists), Rameshwar Broota and Vasundhara Tiwari (artists), Manisha Gera Baswani (artist), Manjunath Kamath (artist), Anjum Singh (artist), Manisha Parekh (artist), G R Iranna and Pooja Iranna (artists), Seema Kohli (artist), Shruti Gupta Chandra (artist), Atul Bhalla (artist), Ranbir Kaleka (artist), Shobha Broota (artist), Ravi Aggarwal (artist), Samit Das and Mithu Sen (artists), Vivan Sundaram (artist), Vibha Galhotra (artist), Ina Puri (curator), Alka Raghuvanshi (curator), Uma Nair (curator), Geeta Kapur (curator), Priya Pall (curator), Prof Rajeev Lochan (NGMA director), Uma Ravi Jain (gallerist), Amol Vadehra (gallerist), Anjali Sen, Mayank Mansingh Kaul among many others.

No comments:

Post a Comment