Monday, November 21, 2011

CEAT Cricket Rating felicitates the Best International Cricketers

Tyre major CEAT Limited celebrated the success and glory of International cricket with ‘CEAT Cricket Rating Awards 2011’ at a glittering ceremony here today at Cricket Club of India in Mumbai. The awards honored the best of the international cricketers based on their performances as rated by the CEAT Cricket ratings (CCR) for the year 2010-2011.

Karsan Ghavri and Gautam Gambhir
CEAT Cricket Rating (CCR) is the first cricket rating to officially recognize and reward cricketers for their performances in the international cricket arena. This year CEAT Cricket Rating (CCR) awards have been awarded in 9 different categories. The evening truly belonged to the stars known for their caliber and timely performance every time they step on the field.

Harsh Goenka, Chairman, RPG Enterprises said, “The CCR International Award function is a tribute to the stalwarts of the world cricket and reiteration of the close association CEAT has with cricket.” He added, “With the changing times the CCR has also evolved and there have been few changes in the format of the awards this year. With the cricket moving to multiple formats, we have focused our rating system to recognize the individual brilliances on the international cricket scene.”

Sunil Gavaskar presenting Courtney Walsh the Award
English cricketer Jonathan Trott won the award of CEAT International Cricketer and CEAT International Batsman and his team mate James Anderson was awarded the CEAT International Bowler of the year. In addition to the awards honored to the International Players, Virat Kohli from Team India won the CEAT International Youngster of the year and Virender Sehwag was honored with the Special Award on completion of 10 years in International Cricket. VVS Laxman won the special award for contribution to Indian cricket and Gautam Gambhir walked away with the CEAT award for the innings of the year for his inning of 97 during the 2011 World Cup Final against Sri Lanka.

Courtney Walsh was conferred with the CEAT Lifetime Achievement Award. The other Awardees were:

·         CEAT International Cricketer of the Year – Jonathan Trott (England)
·         CEAT International Batsman of the year - Jonathan Trott (England)
·         CEAT International Bowler of the year – James Anderson (England)
·         CEAT International Youngster of the year – Virat Kohli (India)
·         CEAT International T20 player of the year – Suresh Raina (India)
·         CEAT Lifetime Achievement Award 2010-2011- Courtney Walsh (West Indies)
·         CEAT Match winning inning of the year - Gautam Gambhir (India)
·         CEAT Special Award for completing 10 years in international cricket - Virender Sehwag (India)
·         CEAT Special Award – Contribution to Indian Cricket Award VVS Laxman (India)

Sunil Gavaskar, VVS Laxman, Virender Sehwag
Speaking on the occasion cricket legend Mr.Sunil Gavaskar said, “CEAT International Cricket Rating Awards is one of the most important events on Cricketing calendar as it recognizes the achievements of the players from grassroots to the international arena“. He also added, “With too many formats in the international cricket we are trying to consolidate individual performance from different formats.

The CEAT Cricket Rating was the first rating system in international cricket to recognize and reward outstanding performers in cricket on an annual basis. Conceived in 1995 by CEAT, the CEAT CRICKET RATINGS attempted to answer every cricket-lover’s persistent and perennial query – “Who is the best of the best?” 

The CEAT Cricket Rating stands out by virtue of its simplicity. It comprises an objective points system that awards points to cricketers for their batting, bowling and fielding performances in the ODI, T20 and Test format. The CEAT Cricket Year commences on 1st May and ends on 30th April of the following calendar year. The cricketer’s that accumulate the highest number of points in their respective categories at the end of this twelve-month period are declared as winners. The adjudicators: The CCR are overseen by cricketing legend Sunil Gavaskar, who is the adjudicator for the ratings. The evening winded off on a colourful note by an exclusive performance by Kangana Ranaut.

No comments:

Post a Comment